Literature Wales

Well, I used the word ‘entitlement’ many times 5 years ago, in respect of that holier than thou Literature Wales. 

The Welsh Government has finally seen the light. After finding the Board incapable and lacking any knowledge, Literature Wales has taken a hammering. A lot of its 1.2 million pa has been taken away and handed over to Welsh Books Council.

Try ‘entitlement’ now then, one of the Welsh Government’s standard phrases in its report!

PS I passed a report on Welsh Arts funding to an Accounts Committee of the Assembly. They took note and gave the Arts Council a right grilling.    

A Judge AND Nothing But

Well, that’s the Election over. Some would say thank God for that, others would say let’s have another one. It’s all icing on the cake whichever way one wants to start haranguing the political parties. This is not withstanding the young voters, they would probably want to go again to start getting out of a lone free life and who could blame them? But it’s done and there we are. The democratic franchise has been open to all and a decision reached – exactly what decision has yet to be determined. I don’t go along with this ‘surprise’ and ‘shock’ that the media goes on about. I didn’t experience either. It may be that the London commentators need to get out of its London ‘bubble’ and experience the reality of day to day voting inclination.   

About two years ago. I wrote a novel on the political destruction of the UK, A Judge and Nothing But. Islamic terrorists, a fine Supreme Court judge with an ex-SAS husband. Kalashnikovs all over the place and knives that didn’t know what they were pointing at. All good stuff and surprisingly accurate on the future Prime Minister and Brexit – all written before the referendum! Don’t ever say that the novelist writes fiction all the time, he or she can be remarkably on the button from time to time. Praise be the novelist – well, I would say that wouldn’t I?

Talking about novels, I have another one coming out in about two to three months’ time. Nothing to do with politics, I promise. It’s about an oil rig that goes down in the 1960’s due to mechanical failure. There are those that won’t let it die, those with a criminal intent. It’s all fists and murder, so look out! I have say that it makes a change to be writing fiction, instead of all the political stage runners that I have to watch and read all the time. A political commentator to a novelist, strange indeed and probably says something about my character generally, but there we are.

I’ve noticed that the political comment seems to be that youngsters use social media instead of the press etc. This makes me go weak at the knees. Imagine all the fakes news (mind you, the national press can’t say much where this is concerned!) that is constantly clogging up the internet lines of honest debate – you can take ‘honest debate’ with a fist full of salt! But in the long run, who knows better. I don’t write anything ‘fake’ but there it is. Fake, fake and fake again as someone once said on the TV, takes Blairite opinion on education to far greater heights doesn’t it? Talking of which, Blairism is for the knackers’ yard if Corbyn gets his way – come to think of it, his little red book of memos reminds me of Mao Zedong’s blindingly red pamphlet of Communist deliberation. That’s politics for you.

I’ve gone a bit off piste in this column, probably drive the Editor nuts but no doubt I’ll get a communication telling me this. Stick to politics Julian he’ll say and never mind the book selling – well, I’m a writer and sorry but I do get a little stuck now and again.

Political columnist and the book worm scribbler, join horns now and again!!