Women!

You know, I reckon there are plenty of women out there who could be first class operatives in the murky world of national security, particularly when it comes to interrogation. Take my wife for example. Every time I go out to meet a friend, of the masculine variety God forbid, upon my return, it’s:

‘How is he? How is his wife? How are the children? Did they enjoy their holidays? Etc etc

Now, sorry to disappoint girls (actually, I’m not) but men’s brains just don’t operate along the same lines as women’s. If I started asking a pal all these questions, he’d think I’d lost the plot once and for all.

The matron even asks me what I had to eat, what the grub was like and so on. What do I say?

‘Fine. Everybody’s fine,’ and then proceed to disappear into my study knowing full well that she is going to seethe with irritation at my total lack of detailed response. Good, isn’t it? You see, we men do have something up of our sleeves after all, when it comes to balancing the scales of female dominion over all things.

And do you think the missus is going to let me get away with this? Not likely. Women always have to have the last word, in fact they’ll fight to the death in order to make sure they do. An hour or so later, in she comes full of steam and fury:

‘You’re so rude, do you know that?! I was only being polite!’

The thing is, when men are on their own being polite isn’t an option. It’s usually all about foul mouthed exchanges of insult and how great it is to be away from the diktats of female tyranny!

That’s men for you.

And another thing, God I’m full of ‘other things’ today! What’s all this fuss about women and equality? As far as I’m concerned, they’ve won the match, game, set and all. Two Prime Ministers, Chief Executives of Companies, Sports Stars, Heads of Organisations, Members of Parliament and any number of senior positions you can think of. Moaning and groaning from the side lines but where does choice come into all this?

Choice to have a brood and bring them up your own way? There’s provision for child maintenance (and the old man has time off as well), provision for this and that, and heaven knows how many other thing come to think of it.

Political thinking is all about the decisions we make. What’s good for us and what’s bad. Surely, women should be allowed to make this choice and good luck to them. There’s nothing to stop a woman from sitting in Parliament, so in which case why doesn’t that Holy of Holies keep its mouth shut and let women decide which direction they want to go in.

I’ll be quiet now!        

 

 

One thought on “Women!

Leave a Reply

