Index on Censorship – a genuine disappointment.

A Google Alert informed me of this. I had no idea I was being filmed for public consumption.

None of the guest speakers appear to have been Youtubed eg the Chairman of the ACW or the CEO of Literature Wales, I can’t imagine why? As the facilitator of Index makes clear, I was not a scheduled speaker, my contribution was totally off the cuff and unprepared. No notes etc.

A  short arse or two went before me, thus my hunched up back trying to reach the microphone…..ooops, Ruck being a ‘shortist’ swine now, disgraceful! I felt quite sorry for international Index Censorshp, well intentioned but I don’t think they really knew what they were up against, thus the small turnout. Out of the 30-40 people there I was the only one to speak up when the session was thrown open.

It all says a great deal about Wales and you can be sure of one thing, had the Welsh media been involved no way in a million years would any of this have been broadcast or put out on the internet.

Welcome to the People’s Republic of Wales.

6 thoughts on “Index on Censorship – a genuine disappointment.

  1. The ex- Archbishop ap Aneurin is also the Rt Revd and Rt Hon Dr Rowan Williams and
    Lord Williams of Oystermouth. (sounds like he has some street cred)

    He seems to be busy collecting titles but some of his quotes on the media and institutions are interesting.
    Perhaps you could get some support from him?

    “A flourishing, morally credible media is a vital component in the maintenance of genuinely public talk, argument about common good.”

    “One of the most powerful defences the media can offer for controversial actions is, of course, public interest.”

    “Institutions develop because people put a lot of trust in them, they meet real needs, they represent important aspirations, whether it’s monasteries, media, or banks, people begin by trusting these institutions, and gradually the suspicion develops that actually they’re working for themselves, not for the community.”

  2. “Poor man’s Parliament” payed by the taxpayer!

    I can understand why Wales is poor.

    I can also now understand why Martin “Censor” Shipton, Media Wales’ Chief Reporter doesn’t report any of this corruption.

    Perhaps Censorshipton could find out: what has happened to all the EU money, has any mismanagement taken place with these EU grants and has any corruption taken place.

    West Wales and the the South Wales valleys have fallen from 72% of the EU average GDP in 2000 to 64% in 2011.

    The figures show that the EU is making Wales poorer.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-wales-26377858

  3. Interesting article from the Guardian ………..

    “The NUJ and other freedom of the press campaigners believe the powers within Ripa are in contravention of article 10 of the European convention on human rights, which promises the right to freedom of expression. Without this protection, Stanistreet argued, the public will no longer trust the press with important stories. The misuse of Ripa was a bombshell for the industry with long-term consequences, she warned.”

    http://www.theguardian.com/media/2014/nov/04/police-ripa-powers-spy-journalists-sources

    • Yes I know, I caught another article by Raymond Snoddy in this month’s NUJ’s ‘the Journalist’.

      It’s not only RIPA that worries me, these days a writer can’t write anything without politically correct minority maniacs trying to silence with ferocious attack.

      The London commentariat in their unworldly pontificating redoubts of intellectual idiocy are worse than anyone. They claim self-righteous detachment from the political classes and yet they are all of the same breed ie degree holding, privately schooled know all’s who wouldn’t know a Working Man’s Club, a roll up or a pint of bitter if it knocked them on their smug and extremely supercilious heads!

      Come to think of it, I’m ‘a degree holding, privately schooled know all’ myself but at least I’ve spent most of my life in the real world and have done all kinds of shitty jobs in my time. Oh and I roll my own fags!

Leave a Reply

