Writer’s Block.

You know, I’m not too sure about this thing called ‘writer’s block’, personally I have never experienced it, so I can only surmise that it has something to do with an inability to write anything.

Anything at all.

Now this I presume, could have something to do with the fact that the author simply can’t think of anything worthwhile to say, well nothing unusual about this.Most of us talk a load of clap-trap on a daily basis so what’s new? I mean when was the last time you debated the mythical mathematical genius of Credit Default Swaps and Collateralised Debt Obligations, with their fundamental propensity for Friedman’s melt- down?

You get my point. So, what is all this ‘blocking’ about?

Some novelists I believe, get around this literary inconvenience by just immersing themselves in what is known as ‘formula’ writing ie same basic plot, just re-name the characters and change the locations.

Now I confess, this wouldn’t be for me, albeit that it appears to work admirably well for a great many readers, so as far as the formula writing novelist is concerned mission accomplished, and nothing wrong with that.If the novel brings some enjoyment, then who the hell cares how it is written?

So, why wouldn’t this style of writing be for me and why haven’t I been blocked? Actually I’m being a bit presumptuous here, why on earth would any of you be the least bit interested in either one, I may well ask?

Please indulge me, I’m on a roll here.

The answer to the first question is simple enough – I would get bored to tears, writing the same sort of thing, and surely this would mean that my so-called creativity and passion for words had been exhausted. And as for being blocked, well this could only mean that my life had become so bland and uneventful, that I no longer had anything to write about.

To conclude then, I sincerely hope that if I ever reach the point of experiencing either, then I will know that it is finally time to stop writing once and for all and find another job – thinking about it scratch the job idea, I’m unemployable and too damned old!

JR

Leave a Reply

